The EMAI Programme is a two-year (120 ECTS) Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree that provides a comprehensive framework of theory and practice in the field of Artificial Intelligence (AI). The Programme, based in four European research universities, will give the students the foundational knowledge needed to explore both key contextual areas and complex technical applications of AI systems.


The four universities involved are top academic institutions representing world-leading research in Europe: Pompeu Fabra University (UPF) in Barcelona, Sapienza University of Rome in Rome (Italy), Radboud University in Nijmegen (The Netherlands), and University of Ljubljana in Ljubljana (Slovenia). The rest of the consortium is made up of the prestigious University College London (UCL) Centre for Artificial Intelligence, and other AI research centers worldwide, as well as 12 industrial partners, including multinational companies as well as small and medium-sized enterprises.

2 years
4 semesters
ECTS credits
  • Obtained title
  • Master of Science
  • Admission requirements and selection criteria in case of limited enrollment

EMAI aims to attract talents worldwide, with attention to academic excellence as well as to aspects of equality, diversity and inclusion. One of the EMAI’s key missions is to enhance the level of internationalisation of its partner institutions.

Detailed information on the procedure can be found on the program's webpage.

Presentation from the online info day can be found here.


Selection Procedure

All applications will be evaluated firstly by the professors and experts of the EMAI consortium. Before April, the selection committee composed by one academic representative per partner university will meet and finalise the assessment of the eligible applications. A ranking will be done on basis of the criteria mentioned: academic excellence, practical/professional experience, and inclusiveness. Within the eligible candidates selected, the consortium will award scholarships on basis of the score obtained in the selection ranking. In addition, the selection committee may decide to interview the candidate. The result of each application will be published on the EMAI website in April.



  • The Curriculum

The EMAI is a two-year Masters programme offered by four higher education institutions. Students will visit three different countries during the first year, and will then have the opportunity to choose where they wish to do their Master’s thesis during the second year.

EMAI students may choose among all consortium member universities and specialize in one of the four offered strands, (intelligent decision making in Spain, robotics in Italy, cybersecurity in The Netherlands, and data science in Slovenia).

The specialization involves the development of a Master Thesis Project, working closely in one of the academic research groups or in an industrial environment.


Detailed information can be found here

  • Deadlines and application


Applicants have to apply at the website of the Master's study programme. 

In case of specific questions you can write to

  • Scholarships

The Erasmus+ programme provides EU-funded scholarships to students who have been selected by the consortia. The Erasmus Mundus scholarship will cover the programme tuition fees and provide a monthly non-taxable stipendium of €1400 for the full length of the programme (24 months) for travel, installation and subsistence costs. Each year there are limited slots for fee waivers and scholarships.

More information can be found here.